Timor Leste Head South Sudan FLAG

South Sudan, also called Southern Sudan, is a landlocked country in Northeast Africa. It gained independence from the country of Sudan in 2011. Unlike Sudan which is predominantly Muslim, most people in South Sudan are either Christian or follow traditional beliefs. South Sudan has a tropical with both wet and dry seasons. South Sudan's economy is largely based on oil and agriculture. The country has vast relatively dry savannas and in the south wetter regions. The country has abundant wildlife. is bordered by Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Democratic Republic of the Congo, and Central African Republic. It includes the vast swamp region of the Sudan that is formed by the White Nile river.

Languages: Portuguese, Indonesian, Tetum and numerous smaller languages

Ethnic Groups: Dinka 35%, Nuer 15.6% and a large number of other named ethnic groups (48.6%).

Belief Systems: Christian 60%, Indigenous 33%, Muslim 6%


Population: 10,204,581 (July 2018 est.) (World Rank: 84th)
Population Density: 47 people/mi^2 (People per Square Mile) (World Rank: 123nd) (2014 estimate)
Population Growth: 1.16% (2018 est.
Life Expectancy: 58.74 years (World Rank: 187th) (2021 estimate)
Median Age: 17.3 years (World Rank: 89st) (2020 estimate)

Sites for More Information:

Map of South Sudan

South Sudan - Country Profile

South Sudan
U.S. Department of State

South Sudan - General Information

Travel Advisories

Travel Info

Government Related Sites:

South Sudan Embassy
in Washington D.C.

A World of Cultures © 2024
Brought to You by the
Worldview Project